# APPROVED October 14, 2016



UNIVERSITY SENATE

Loyola University Chicago

Minutes of the University Senate

September 9, 2016

**Members Present**: Francis Alonzo, Laura Baker, Mary Kate Brueck, Pamela Caughie, Lisa Gillespie, Philip Hale, Zelda Harris, Don Heider, Peter Jones, Terri Kilbane, Joyce Knight, Ariana Lewis, Niamh McGuigan, Sergio Ortiz, Kim Oosterhouse, Natalie Pine, Adam Roberts, Richelle Rogers, Stephanie Romero, Thomas Sallese, Kim Searcy, Noah Sobe, Don Stemen, Nancy Tuchman, Maria Udo, Talmadge Wright

**Members Absent**: Timothy Classen, Anusha Mannam, Harrison Mbgui, Ginny McCarthy, Susan Uprichard

Ex-Officio members Present: John Pelissero, Margaret F. Callahan, Emmanuelle Escandar

### I. Welcome and Announcements

The meeting was called to order at 5:31 pm. The chair (N. Sobe) welcomed everyone and noted that he would be working on assembling updates for the October meeting related to the active Senate resolutions passed in the past year. This included the Senate's recommendations around fossil fuels divestment and Title IX Reporting. He also noted that the Extraordinary Committee on Faculty had completed a set of recommended changes to the Faculty Handbook and that these had been passed back to Faculty Council with the hope that the two bodies would be able to jointly forward a set of recommended changes to the Provost in the next several weeks. Additionally, he noted that the question of a bylaws change around Senate Agenda setting would be placed on the agenda for our October meeting given that the Senate did not manage to pass a resolution according to proper procedure in the past session.

#### **II. Approval of Previous Minutes**

T. Wright moved that the minutes of the April 22, 2016 meeting of the 2015-2016 University Senate be approved as amended, A. Lewis and the motion passed by a vote of 26 in favor, 0 opposed, 4 abstentions.

A. Lewis moved that the minutes of the April 22, 2016 meeting of the 2016-2017 University Senate be approved as amended. K. Searcy seconded and the motion passed by a vote of 27 in favor, 0 opposed, 3 abstentions.

# APPROVED October 14, 2016

## **III. Election of Senate Committee Chairs**

The Senate held elections for chairs of its standing committees, with the following results:Academic Affairs and Research Committee-Natalie Pine & Talmadge Wright (co-chairs)Budget and Strategic Planning Committee-Don Stemen (chair)Diversity Committee-Terri Kilbane & Kim Searcy (co-chairs)Faculty Affairs and Staff Affairs Committee-Richelle Rogers & Maria Udo (co-chairs)Student Development and Success Committee-Mary Kate Brueck & Stephanie Romeo(co-chairs)Bylaws and Elections-Laura Baker (chair)

The meeting was adjourned at 5:52 PM.

Respectfully submitted

Joyce D. Knight Secretary, University Senate